[DAY 35] Back to Basics: A 100 Day Study Log

Hello.

TLDR: I will revise the basics and focus on easy input (多読など). I will write about it in this thread for accountability. Perhaps I will get bored and quit. Hopefully not.

Detailed Context: Due to my job and life circumstances I probably have a foreseeable 1.5-2.5 years where I can dedicate a reasonable amount of time to getting good at Japanese, after which I am planning on getting much busier with work so Japanese will be put on the backburner although still be a major part of my life. I live in Japan and don’t plan on leaving so getting good at Japanese is important for my work and life (and also I just like studying it). I have been studying Japanese for a couple of years and change now and have been in Japan a year and a half and would say my ability is around a weak N1 (meaningless self-assessed level - from what I have seen some N1 stuff is pretty easy and some of it I have no clue on so…). I actually don’t have a large amount of interest in the JLPT itself as a test but I am going to take the N1 in December this year and plan on doing it without studying specifically for the test. To that end, I will also be taking the N2 in the summer just to see what the test is like and how the test day itself works. Naturally I do not plan on studying explicitly for the N2 either.

Larger Goals: Long term, I would like to get very very good at Japanese. Having a large active vocabulary and a wide, creative and natural range of expression is important to me. I also like reading and would like to be able to read anything I want without a dictionary and with very very very few unfamiliar words, the same as English. In the medium term, this year my focus is on moving from feeling like a learner of the language to someone who simply uses the language.