App vs. website on mobile

I’m very new to bunpro and started on PC but mostly do my japanese practice (WaniKani) on mobile (android). I saw that bunpro has an official app and got it but when I wanted to do my lessons I could not find the “mark as mastered” button that the website has, which got me wondering:
Is it better to just use the website (as a PWA for example) instead of the app? What are the pros and cons of each?

3 Likes

Yeah, the app is rather crude at times, but I use it on mobile anyway for no specific reason, and I did not try using the web version on mobile.

One recent annoying thing I found is that the app ships with some kind of limited font with missing characters, so my notes made in my primary language do not display correctly

1 Like

I quite like the app because I can’t be bothered to go to the website from my phone browser, but it seems that the web app probably does have less issues.

1 Like

If you are using iOS you might want to try this on safari :
export menu (square with the arrow) > add to Home Screen

You’ll get a bunpro icon and no safari interface when launched, which is pretty much like an app.

I have never tried the app because bunpro works perfectly well on this mobile layout, no idea if the app is any better.

3 Likes

You can mark entries as mastered there after adding them to your reviews, then heading down to the “Progress” tab, and tapping the “Mark as Mastered” button in the three dots menu. I agree that this is a bit complicated, though.

From my experience, the app works quite well, and I’ve never felt the need to switch to the web version. Until offline capabilities are added to it, I think that the mobile experience will be pretty comparable, with the app being slightly more optimized. I have no doubt in my mind that the developers won’t add the missing features to the mobile app eventually.

2 Likes