Can recommend Crystal Hunter manga for absolute absolute beginners

Any beginners out there looking to get into reading, especially manga, I just finished crystal hunters volume 1.

It’s pitched really well for N5 learners. I did the Japanese volume and then the natural Japanese. Picked up quite a bit of vocab and some interesting grammar not covered so far for me.

anyway, I found it difficult to know where to get started with reading, so hope this helps someone get going also.

cheers

10 Likes

oh yeah, link would help ! crystalhuntersmanga

1 Like

Has the natural japanese version always been a thing? I remember way back when looking at the first volume but it felt so unnatural I didn’t really give it much thought. But yeah, it’s a really solid entryway from what I remember and they do a pretty darn good job at explaining a lot of the fundamentals. Gonna give the natural a crack tonight to see how it is!

Oh that’s a good beginner book. I’m not into anime and I’m not advanced in Japanese but I could figure out almost every sentence. Very good recommendation.

The following website is one I got from WaniKani forums and it has very many books that are good for beginners and a lot of them are free to read

https://learnnatively.com/browse/

2 Likes

IIRC, they added in the natural language version after the fact.

I didn’t know about it and got the scuffed version for volume 1 which was… honestly, worth it for the whopping $3 asking price. I was trying to find stuff at that level and their book was the only one that tried to tell an actual story compared to similarly leveled graded readers (I was going by learnnatively as well). I was kind of disappointed with it at first, but getting a decent length comic and a more fun Japanese study break at that price point was a bit of a steal.

For anyone that’s curious they posted the volume 1 natural version on pixiv for free

1 Like