Desperate for help...any advice to give?!

Hey :wave:t4: anyone who reads this. I am Mikey. I am new to the Bunpro community. I have only been using this app for around several months. I learned of it from a fellow test taker I met this past December when I took the N5 test, which I passed. I thought I failed the listening comprehension portion, so I was definitely excited.

Now six months later, currently self-studying for the N4; however, I have been feeling my studies are plateau’ing. I study for up to 3-4hrs every day after work absorbing a lot of information with Bunpro & Wanikani. I create study sheets for each grammar point on Bunpro along with random sentences to reiterate grammar points/vocabulary old & new. What is missing is a way to increase my speaking and listening skills. I don’t know the people or have the spaces to help with my Japanese, and with listening comprehension as my most lacking aspect, I need as much advice as anyone can provide.

This has been a perilous journey for me spanning well over 10yrs. I started studying Japanese in 2010, but life took me off course until 2022. I have been alone through it all. I am lost as to what is the best course of action for someone in my situation. Where other resources are there that do I not know of? Any information anyone can provide to help or if there is anyone willing to assist in my speaking and listening comprehension feel free to let me know! I have been off track for so long and I don’t want to fail at this any longer.

8 Likes

Go to YouTube and type in “JLPT N4 Listening Practice” and go through those videos. Can’t speak for the quality of them but they’re probably a really good start. If you can find the Minna no Nihongo Chuukyuu (みんなの日本語中級) audio/videos this will also be helpful.