Functionality lacking for studying between initial introduction of topic and reviewing it

I’m new to Bunpro and while I find it packed with great content, I’m having trouble seeing how it effectively bridges the gap between introducing a topic and reviewing it. Specifically, there seems to be a lack of a “study” functionality.

I’ve been particularly struggling with verb conjugations—U/Ru in the past and negative forms, spanning four different topics, each with unique rules. When I read the grammar pages, the rules seem straightforward—change “gu” to “gi” and add this stem, or drop the “i” and add “-ku nai.” However, in practice, there’s nothing in place to solidify this knowledge.

When it comes time for reviews, it feels like taking a test without having studied. While there is a “cram” section, it doesn’t quite address this issue. It lets you practice one example of a verb conjugation and then congratulates you, but what I need is a tool that allows extensive practice of each verb conjugation.

This functionality is crucial for certain aspects of learning, such as verbs, though not necessarily for simpler topics like basic particles. Without the ability to thoroughly practice, reviews can become frustrating rather than helpful. Bunpro’s framework doesn’t seem to provide the necessary repetition to internalize these rules.

How do you all manage this? Are there better online tools for practicing verb conjugations? Also, is it possible to create plugins for Bunpro, similar to those for WaniKani? If so, I might consider developing one.

3 Likes

Don’s Japanese Congugation Drill could be worth looking at.

6 Likes

bunpro seems to be more focused on a review style system rather than a full all in one grammar system in that regard. they give you many different resources for reading more about a certain grammar point, but it is on you to do the initial learning. luckily with grammar seeing it in use will solidify it even if you only briefly learned it on bunpro.