Getting Out of Synonym Hell

I am studying for N4, just moving into Vol 3 of Japanese for Busy People, supplemented with wanikani, Japanese Pod 101, Tae Kim, iknow, and of course bunpro.

My problem is - SYNONYMS! I know a lot of times this is nuance I’m missing. Honestly, Tae Kim is a bit brief of that. Also, the prompts are frequently confusing, and so I feel like I’m memorizing the sentences sometimes rather than truly learning the underlying grammar.

Other than just tons of brute forcing it, what do other people do to deal with terms that are quite similar without seeing the infamous red bar all the time? (I like the green bar :slight_smile: ).

Thanks for any help!

Larry

8 Likes

Hi,
For N5 and N4 materials, I tried both Genki and Minna no Nihongo (I tried Tae Kim but felt more dense, less explanations, and less grammar points overall compared to the language learning books).

I found Minna no Nihongo better at explaining some stuff, and overall more fun because it was mostly in Japanese (not relying too much on English), and harder, but still have the same issue. It’s just a personal choice (Minna is not user friendly compared to Genki, not really great for self-study …).
Anyway ! Sometimes, it felt like “This grammar point is used when XXX, very similar to XXX grammar point”. Most of the time, the explanation was enough to differentiate them (they put some example sentences and explain why xxx and xxx is better in this case) but sometimes it’s not.

What helped me a lot is to reinforce my knowledge with the Kanzen Master series (especially the Grammar book).
It’s a jlpt prep-books with great explanations. We review confusing grammar points simultaneously, they explain the difference and then … It’s quizz time :rofl: (+ sometimes depression). I’m just beginning Bunpro, so it will be a great way to review them over time using the SRS instead of understand everything during the kanzen quizz, and forgetting it a few weeks after.