How often to click "study"…?

This web site doesn’t seem to do as much hand-holding as Wanikani. I guess I can click “Study” as much as I want? But if I did that too much it would overwhelm my review queue…? How am I supposed to do this?

Sorry for asking such a noob question but I looked all over the forum and still don’t get it

14 Likes

I’m not sure there’s a “right way” really, but I’ll tell you what I did.

In the beginning I had already studied some grammar on Lingodeer, so I went through everything I already knew at about 15-25 new points per day. Then once I got new things, I worked my way down to what I felt I could handle in terms of new content per day. Figured out about how long it would take me to reach a goal, say new N4 materials, at said pace. After that it’s just a matter of doing so many reviews per day/week.

I will say that as I got to higher levels, I definitely slowed the pace down. I’m currently studying for N2 in July and I do 2 sets of 3 points per week, with the occasional week of 9 new points. This keeps me from overloading myself and allows me to do a lot of cramming in between to make sure I’ve really cemented the points, and even go back and re-read some of the curated readings/videos.

TL;DR- Just find a pace that works for you where you’re making progress you’re satisfied with, but not to the point that you don’t really remember how the grammar works after your review session is over.

11 Likes

I pretty much agree with Houndstooth. What workload you can handle really depends on your circumstances.
If you’re only on Bunpro once a day, I don’t think I’d enjoy doing 100 reviews in one go.
If you’re here 5 times, doing 10-25 reviews each isnt that bad.

For me, the most important guideline is moving along with other material.
It’s rather pointless to know lots of grammar but no kanji/vocab and the other way around.