I seem to have offended someone

So not long ago I decided to start chatting with native Japanese speakers. I found a language exchange partner online and we’ve been chatting for a few weeks now, mostly though text. Well, when they first introduced themselves, they wrote their name in hiragana, which I’ve been using ever since. But I recently decided to ask what kanji they use and they refused to tell me, wondering what possible reason I might have for wanting to know that. I tried to explain, explaining that I’m fascinated by kanji, especially how they’re used in names; how I’m a student who is trying to learn Japanese and part of that is being able to read names, many of which use unconventional kanji; and I also likened it to an English speaker wanting to know how to properly spell an acquaintance’s name after an introduction.

Well, I’m not sure why, but this person seems to find this extremely “creepy” (their words). And that so-called “western kanji nerds” only view their language exchange partners as tools for learning Japanese, and not as actual people.

Needless to say, I’m bamboozled. Did I break some sort of super sensitive point of Japanese etiquette?

Also posted this in the WK forums.

9 Likes

Three possibilities come to mind:

1. There has been a miscommunication (either on one side or both - maybe they don’t mean to be as offensive as they are being; maybe you asked in a strange or too persistent way)
  2. Their name doesn’t use kanji and they are annoyed with everyone asking on the app and then they have been rude about it to you (they would probably just say that if it were the case though).
  3. They are just rude and it isn’t really your fault. Sometimes people are just rude.