Is there any reason to purchase text books?

If I read the resources that Bunrpo provided thoroughly and learn from any other resources I could search on Google and Youtube. Is there still any good reason to purchase textbooks like Tobira or AIAIJ?

Those books are not cheap and I’m not sure if they are still have any good reason to buy them. Or they are still far better than online resources and the books are still madatory on learning Japanese?

What is your experience so far with textbooks and free online Japanese learning resources?

1 Like

You’ll definitely get different opinions on this. Not all textbooks are created equally, but I think there is still a place for them. I think that some books have great explanations and also offer you a guiding path. This is certainly more valuable to absolute beginners I think. The Dictionary of Japanese Grammar books are indispensable for me because of the high quality content, however they are of the reference book variety. I’m also using the Shinkanzen Master series to help prepare for the JLPT, and I find it helpful. However, I cannot speak to intermediate books like Tobira as I haven’t read them.

5 Likes

First of all, thanks for answering my question. It does help me a lot.

Could you recommend some books series for JLPT exam? There are a ton of them. So your opinion could help me a lot. When I started learning Japanese almost a year ago. I used Minna no Nihongo, but it doesn’t have a good structure in my opinion.

I’m planning on taking the N2 exam this December.

I only have experience reading the Shinkanzen Master N3 grammar book, so I can’t offer any helpful comparisons. One reason I like the book is that it is mostly written in Japanese. Since you are taking the N2 exam, I’d recommend you also find a prep book that is mostly written in Japanese. I’ve been making the monolingual learning transition and I’m finding it immensely beneficial.

3 Likes

Thanks I will have a look on Shinkanzen Master N3 and N2.

1 Like