JLPT content - who to believe

Studying for N4 atm :face_vomiting:

What do people do when one source tells them ‘this is an N4 kanji’ and another says ‘this is N3 Kanji’ ?
Think I saw a comment by Asher once that the Shinkanzen books are pretty on the money…

There’s a bunch of kanji (around 20) in their N4 kanji book that at least two other resources say are N3. It’s about 20% of them so it’s not negligible.

I get that there is no official list (not helpful), but just wondering what other people do/have done.

3 Likes

Learn them all…

Personally I do not care if a kanji is N1 and I’m studying N4 right now. If bunpro or some other source I see has it in a sentence I want to know what it means.

16 Likes

You either are going to have to learn them all, or gamble on them.

If you are in the long run, you will need to learn them eventually, so might as well use it as an excuse to go through.

Otherwise, if you want to “prioritize” Kanji, might as well use frequency criteria to see if they are worth adding them on your list to study.

5 Likes

yes what he said… LEARN IT ALL. もっと!もっと! :smiling_imp: :smiling_imp: :smiling_imp:

5 Likes

Yeah, it’s annoying as I’ve been using this app on my tablet, and I’ve completed N4 on there. I compared to the shinkanzen master book and found these extra kanji. The app has all of them by at N3 and unfortunately it has no way to put them in your queue - I’d have to go through a whole bunch of N3 kanji to get to them.

I’ve found a kanji deck on kitsun, and promoted all these kanji to the front.

Just a minor inconvenience in the way I study kanji tbh.

over time… yes… in the next 3 months… want to prioritize the N4 ones…

2 Likes

Is it possible that both are true also, that it’s a N4 and a N3 kanji, and you are being tested on different nuances/usage depending on the level.

It happens also with School Grade order, where a Kanji could be on Grade 7 and Grade 6 and such.

3 Likes