JLPT July 2022 Experiences

So yesterday was the JLPT here in Japan. How did everyone think they did? I took N2 and while the vocab, kanji, and grammar seemed much easier than expected, the reading portion seemed MUCH more difficult in comparison to the practice tests I took. Listening also seemed more difficult than the practice tests. I’m leaning towards failing, but only by a few points.

Nothing exciting happened in our room. Although a bunch of people were talking to each other before the first part of the test even finished.

Anything interesting happen in your testing room? Any red cards?

10 Likes

Lovin the form, excited to see if there was any interesting test experiences across Japan.

I took my N3 test in Okayama, nothing at all interesting to report from my testing room. No red cards, no yellow cards.

One thing that I want to say, I studied all my kanji for the N3 using WaniKani. I’m only at level 23 so I knew going into it that there would be huge gaps in my N3 kanji knowldege. But to my great delight, by luck of the draw maybe, it was predominantly kanji I knew. Would love to know if anyone had similar or opposite experiences!

That being said, I will likely be close to the pass/fail point. Still a hard test y’all.

6 Likes

I’ve been working through 新完全マスターN2 and there were quite a few words I remember thinking were “obscure” and, sure enough, they were on the test. 発芽 was on there which was surprising; I remember reading it and thinking “I’m never going to use this” and there was a whole reading passage dedicated to it.

8 Likes