Listening Comprehension

Hey Guys,
I started learning Japanese about three months ago and am halfway through Genki 1 (which I think is a really goo textbook tbh), and am doing WaniKani along with Bunpro. The only thing I feel is still missing from my learning journey is a listening source that is educational, because netflix shows are still too fast. Any tips and resources are welcome, thanks guys!!

3 Likes

I think you could get a lot more responses on this topic if you go to WaniKani’s community. Also, I’m pretty sure there are plenty of threads there that have already covered this topic. Listening is a really important subject in language learning, so you can find a lot of answers over there.

But, to shortly answer your question based on my experiences, and what I’ve learned: keep watching those netflix series. But, most importantly, make sure you’re watching stuff that you find interesting. If you don’t find what you’re watching interesting, then your thoughts are going to wander, and then you won’t be benefitting at all. Also, if at any point in your listening you feel bored, start to doze off, etc. switch to something else (something that isn’t listening), or take a break. At that point you aren’t getting anything out of it, and could be doing something more beneficial for your learning. Listening is really difficult starting out since you don’t understand a thing. But, even though things are fast paced and everything flies over your head, as long as you are putting your full attention into it and carefully listening to what’s being said, then your brain will be doing things behind the scenes to help you eventually gain better listening comprehension. I still have a very difficult time hearing words I know, however, one thing that I’ve noticed over time is that I’m dozing off a lot less, and every so often I hear words that I just know (no Japaense->English translation goes on in my head, I just understand it).