Meaning of 「〜の(は)」 after an adjective

I am studying N5 grammar. In my today’s study session, I was greatly confused by the particle combination 「〜のは」 or 「〜のが」 which showed up in many of the example sentences.

Examples from https://bunpro.jp/grammar_points/55

飲み物の中で一番好きなのは何ですか。
Out of all drinks, what is your number one favorite drink?

More examples

お茶の中で一番美味しいのは何ですか。
Out of all teas, what is the number one most delicious tea?

国の中で一番人口が多いのはどれですか。
Out of all countries, which country has the number one largest population?

韓国の食べ物の中で一番好きなのはキムチです。
Out of all Korean foods, my number one favorite food is kimchi.

カタカナとひらがなと漢字の中で一番簡単なのは、ひらがなだろう。
Among hiragana, katakana, and kanji, hiragana is the number one simplest, right?

一番好きなのはどれですか、この中で?
Among these, which is your number one favorite?

Examples from https://bunpro.jp/grammar_points/361

映画を見に行くのが好きだけど、いいのがない。
I like to go watch movies, but there aren’t any good ones.

I have already learned the grammar point 「〜の(は)」 as a verb nominalizer. But this can’t be applied here since the particles all follow adjectives instead of verbs.

Can you explain the usage to me? What am I missing? Thanks!

1 Like

Hey :grin:

This is another use of の (it is on the to-do list). Dependent pronoun meaning “one”.
You can use it when you are referring to some noun (and it is understandable for your interlocutors) to avoid repetition. In translation of some of those sentences the noun that has been refereed to has been simply used instead of “one”.
は is our old friend - topic particle.

お茶の中で一番美味しい は 何ですか。
Among the teas, what is the most delicious one?

In this sentence, it refers to お茶。

Which is the contraction of:

お茶の中で一番美味しい お茶は 何ですか。
Out of all teas, what is the number one most delicious tea?"(sounds awkward, right? :sunglasses:)

カタカナとひらがなと漢字の中で一番簡単な は 、ひらがなだろう。
The simplest one among hiragana, kanji, katakana is hiragana, right?

Refers to 表記体系, notation/writing system or something along etc.

国の中で一番人口が多い は どれですか。