Month 6 of Immersion: Reading everyday for a month

April 21st, 2021 was the day I purchased a Kindle solely for the purpose of reading Japanese books. Not too long after I bought it, I purchased my first light novel (はたらく魔王さま). From that date in 2021 to the beginning of July of 2022. I had only finished 32% of the book. Safe to day, my Kindle was a rather expensive paperweight a lot of that time. There wasn’t really a specific reason for it, in general I’m not a very prolific reader. The last books I actually finished in English were actually audiobooks.

Since the beginning of this year, I’ve been poised to change my immersion habits, and I really wanted to make sure reading was a big part of it. While I have comparatively read more than I did last year, I still haven’t read as much as I would have liked. I can finally say that last month I was consistent with my reading and it really was quite an experience. Over the years, I’ve gotten a considerable amount of reading that wasn’t from books, manga, light novels and the sort. Be it from daily studies, articles, forum posts, youtube comments, video-games, social media, news, websites, food packages. While not as focused, it has been there on almost a daily basis. Still, that focused reading element has been missing.
After reading a light novel almost every day this past month for at least 25 minutes everyday, I can say that the experience has been very good. Having a Kindle makes it easy since I can look up words easily and carry it almost anywhere. My post dinner evenings usually involve me pacing around the living room, holding up a kindle while wearing overpriced noise canceling headphones playing lo fi hip-hop and drinking a Topo Chico. I have a very patient partner.