My impatience actually stops me from learning and makes me anxious

Does anyone have this experience and if so, how to

I’m a very impatient person with anything that I have to learn or do slowly. This is why despite opening up my first Japanese learning textbook almost 10 years ago, I’m still a beginner. I get incredibly in my head over it to the point where I sometimes can’t even start a learning session.

Part of the reason is the overwhelming resources out there. What to start with? How to learn? In what order? In order to help me feel less overwhelmed, I’ve limited my learning mainly to the Lingodeer App for 90% of the time, WaniKani and sometimes Bunpro.

It sucks to know that if I’d have managed to hone some patience, I would probably be near on fluent by now. But, I know it’s not too late :slight_smile:

What methods or ways do you use in order to manage your time and learning effectively? And if you have issues with patience, boredom and delayed gratification, what has helped you focus?

Thanks.

4 Likes

First thing is to forgive yourself. It’s hard to learn a language and the image that some people put out of ‘fluent’ after only a year or whatever are kinda like fitness models. Sure they are more athletic or whatever but their pictures are still photoshopped. Ive been learning Japanese for a long time as well. There are periods in my life where I just don’t have time and I don’t make a lot of progress, there are months where I do and I am able to make a log of progress.

Everyone is on their own journey. If you are looking for specific advice I can give it, but I feel like you just need to hear it’s not a moral failing that you are not further along in your Japanese journey. You are doing good! We are proud of whatever level your are at! If you need support just ask!

This make me think of a classic Japanese expression:
写真はイメージです

12 Likes