Pronunciation - ~っ , う, and double kana

So. I’ve been studying Japanese for a whopping three months now, but I have a question tingling in the back of my mind.

What the heck is up with the pronunciation of ~っ , う, and double kana ??

Some days I think I understand but then others I’m completely lost. So now it’s time to clear it up once and for all.

I’m going to use the following examples -

-なかった : The negative plain past tense ending
だろう : casual assertive “right ?”
お母さん : mother

So for the itty bitty つ kana, what I’ve gathered is that it just means when you read the word you kind of cut off the length of the kana preceding it, んですか ? So のみなかった sounds more like "nominaka-ta"like you’ve choked a bit on the “ka” sound than nomina"kah"ta, yeah ?

It’s more the う and double kana sounds that mess with me. Do they both extend the sound of the preceding kana ? If so, why would you have two different ways of saying it ? And how would one then differentiate a word with no double kana sound and the mini つ ? For example, when you write out お母さん in furigana, you do おかあさん instead of おかさん - but for simplicity sake, let’s say it was pronounced as おかさん - what’s the difference between saying か and かっ ?

As for the difference between using a double kana and う, is it just you use double kana for any syllable you’re extending that isn’t お ? But then, if that’s the case, why is 通る said とおる ?

Hopefully I explained myself clearly :sweat_smile:

3 Likes

Everything really is as simple as it is written everywhere :slight_smile:

っ just doubles the following consonant.
So, from your example なかった = nakatta
but without it, it would be なかた = nakata

As for う after other vowels - it just lengthens it.
だろう = darou or daroooooooooo
while だろ would be jast daro

And finally double kana. It’s literally the same situation as with う.
But you can’t really use う after i or a, right?
So, in order to lengthen the vowel - another one is added.
おかあさん = okaaaaasan (long vowel)