Quitting Bunpro (kind of)

Hello, hope you’re doing well, whoever you are reading this. Due to my Japanese learning goals for 2024 I have decided to stop using Bunpro. I thought I’d write my thoughts on it as someone who has been using it for a couple of years and got to about halfway through the N1 lessons (from 0). Also some general rambling about my own Japanese learning journey for the sake of context.

First, how/why/when did I use Bunpro?

When I started learning Japanese I was in a very big hurry and I rushed through Genki 1 and 2 without understanding much and then forced myself to start engaging with native media and doing vocab with JPDB. I tried a kanji recognition deck for maybe 100 kanji but hated it. I started Bunpro in the first month or two of starting studying but I didn’t really start until after I had “finished” the Genkis. I was gonna be moving to Japan about in about half a year so I was in a very naive hurry. I added all of N5 through to the around the end of N3 on Bunpro and had about 4k vocab cards on JPDB when I came to Japan after those 6 months. My level was cringe inducingly bad (still is…苦笑), especially as I had never spoken before, but I am now very glad that I pushed to get those basics somewhat in my head before I got here. In the first month of being here I realised my grasp on basic grammar was nowhere near as good as I had fooled myself into thinking so I reset my Bunpro to zero and started again. The focus from then on was roughly going in the JLPT order and adding only things I already had seen, already understood somewhat, or things I thought were conceptually easy enough to learn without much bother. As my level has increased I have found that “mining” grammar points becomes harder and harder, in the end perhaps taking a week at a time to find new ones (as they appear on Bunpro). I would guess about 70 of the N1 grammar points I haven’t seen (or have no memory of) and it would take me a year to “catch them all”. Not only that b