Resetting Main Reviews after long break

So I have recently come back to Bunpro after several months off and I have a backlog of about 388 reviews. I have completed all of N5,4, and 3 and was working my way though N2 and had studied around 110 grammar points. This isn’t my first backlog and last time I battled through it, it took several weeks before it got down to a reasonable daily level. This time I have set Ghosts to minimal and just reset them, but I am wondering if it would be best to reset main reviews as well. I definitely need to review many of the N2 points I studied previously if not all of them but I would rather not reset all of N2. So I am asking the community, I tried searching about managing backlogs, but didn’t find any helpful returns. The advice is appreciated!

4 Likes

I had a similar decision to make on WaniKani, and ultimately (after searching through their forums to see what others had done) I decided to reset down to a certain level (not all the way back to 0).

The main point of decision for me was that I was finding slogging through a(nother) giant review pile painful, rather than just tedious. I was losing motivation! Previously, SRS had been fun, but now it was becoming a dreadful chore.

So, I wanted to regain the fun of learning Japanese (via SRS) and that ultimately was what tipped the scales for me.

And, after resetting, it was a huge relief, and it did become fun again.

Re-learning an item you learned previously (even if you went all the way to burning it) is waaay easier the second time around, and doesn’t require nearly as much cognitive load as learning it from the first time. You will quickly advance to the point where you are starting to get challenging items again, and then you can slow back down to a nice, sustainable pace.

In other words, working through a pile of remembered reviews is much more enjoyable than working through a pile of forgotten reviews!

5 Likes