Resources for Kids Learning JP

Hi there.

My family and I plan to move to Japan in a year or two. We’ve all been studying the language to varying degrees for over a year and a half.

When we move there, I’d like my kids to have similar Japanese knowledge to someone their age in Japan (at least as much as we can, being non-native speakers).

My wife homeschools the kids, so this is a great opportunity for us to equip them.

I’m wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction when it comes to the curriculum that Japanese schools use in elementary school. I’m a teacher by trade, so even a list of all the things they learn in each grade would be a great starting point.

My oldest is 7 (2nd grade) and he knows the hiragana and katakana, and about 500 words.

The next is 5 (kindergarten) and she’s learning the hiragana now and knows a good handful of words.

Our whole family has been listening to music and watching anime together for immersion.

And advice or tips? Thank you!

I get the feeling that your entire family will likely find this resource useful. The site also contains links to various other websites focused on extensive reading which can be useful for finding even more difficult reading once you’ve hit the end of this site’s free book list, or for finding more reading at a specific level if going up to the next one is proving difficult.

3 Likes

Thank you very much, I will check these out! It will be good to have some reading resources!

I live in Tokyo and have three kids (5, 3, 6mo). We really have seen a lot of success with shows that are at or below their age level (inai nai ba, doraemon, etc.) and have found the YouTube channel, Super Simple Songs Japanese, to be great for vocab, hearing, and pronunciation. Of course, reading books to them is great!