Resources for Learning Spoken Casual Japanese?

TL;DR Can you recommend any resources (apps, books, websites, articles etc) for learning spoken and/or casual Japanese?

My Japanese skills are far better in the written and formal domain than in the spoken and casual one. I am currently studying N2 grammar and vocabulary, and it is overwhelmingly formal and written. The application that I used are also mostly written and pretty formal (WaniKani, BunPro, Genki, Tobira), and since I have not lived in Japan, the amount of Japanese conversations I have had have been limited. I am finally going to Japan soon, and the most crucial skill for me to develop is spoken and casual Japanese. This is both because it is the part I am the worst at, but also because actually talking in Japan is pretty essential to use the language. When speaking, I have issues with for example fast speaking, causal words I have not heard of, abbreviations of grammar and particles and words I only memorize when reading, not listening. Hopefully much of this will improve while actually being in Japan, but I want to try to find the best resources for doing so, like casual word anki-decks, articles, videos explaining casual concepts and so on. The WaniKani and BunPro community have been amazing at this, so I am asking you again :slight_smile: I consider my written level to be N3-N2, and spoken to be N4-N3 (although I easily fall off when someone speaks too fast).

2 Likes

Let’s learn Japanese from small talk! - a podcast with pretty casual spoken Japanese.

You can also try iTalki lessons to speak with a native Japanese person.

If you watch a ton of anime, you will find a LOT of abbreviations. Here is a good index of common casual contractions: Quick Contraction Reference - Grammar - WaniKani Community