Review Calculator Idea

Wishing there was a calculator that could tell you how many reviews you need To do a day to reach a certain point, or grammar points,

EDIT*** Uhmmm Bunpro team this is a bit of traffic??! maybe this idea is worth looking into? I took a python class Freshman year so lmk if you guys want me to write the base code :sunglasses::sunglasses::sunglasses:

1 Like

You can do this pretty easily manually. For example, I’m studying for the JLPT N3. There are 217 grammar points and the test is 51 days away.

217/51=4.255

So to keep on pace, I need to do learn about 4 per day.

3 Likes

Reviews, not points. — Dave

4 Likes

One problem is that your retention probably drops quite dramatically if you add over a certain amount of new points and, equally, some points are far easier than others. This is without mentioning how factors outside the SRS change things (immersion time, health and lifestyle, etc). You can do some sort of manual calculation based on your current retention stats but it is pretty certain that your retention will drop for more advanced grammar points in general and likely even more so if you maintain the same pace as you did for lower levels. E.g., 5 new a day for N5 is fast for a total novice but it is managable, especially as you probably will be spending most of your time on studying and not just reading/listening at that level, but 5 a day for N1 is extremely quick to the point of being unmanagable, assuming an equal level of ignorance for those grammar points as you had for N5.

So…if you are going to manually calculate it then I would err on the side of caution and predict a retention drop for each level or for each extra new point you add per day. Very not scientific and janky but it would probably give you some estimation.