Sentence Difficulty

Hey there!
When i studied N5 and N4 grammar, I had the feeling that the vocab used in the example sentences was approximately equivalent to the level.

But now that i start with N3 grammar, i have the feeling at least a bunch of sentences are waaay too hard, sometimes with vocab that is not even marked ‘common’ in jisho. Is this just me because I barely started with N3 grammar and vocab or are there other people who feel the same?

8 Likes

Yeah I’ve noticed the difficulty curve has seemed to go up quite a bit in N3/N2.

Something I’ve found helpful is to use the rikaikun extension for chrome while doing reviews. This way I can just highlight unfamiliar vocab for a quick definition and try to figure out the remainder of the sentence on my own, rather than go straight to Bunpro’s full english translation.

6 Likes

Yeah, I do get what I you mean. Towards N2/N1, some sentences seem way too long too hehe. However, Bunpro’s sentences are in general quite good, somewhat modifiable and get the point across.

It’s not something that I have ever worried about.

While using Bunpro, don’t worry so much about the vocab and try to concentrate on the grammar points more. There is also quite a gap between N3 and N4 in terms of vocab and grammar too.

Something that helped while making notes on new grammar points was to use Bunpro’s extra reading section to find (easier) sentences or to just search the grammar point online / YouTube.

5 Likes

OK, so I am not the only one
I have the rikaikun extention but even that doesn’t help much when the sencence is about supernova explosions or such things :laughing:

Ya, that’s what I mostly do. Though sometimes I catch myself not even trying to look at the sentence anymore (especially after a few too hard sentences) but only at the few words around the gap or the english hint that is telling me which grammar point to use ^^’

4 Likes