So... how do you study?

Being still a total beginner both with Japanese and Bunpro, I’m feeling a bit unclear on how to use the “Study” feature best.

I’m currently doing it like this:

• I try to study 3 grammar points (because that’s the least amount I can set…) every few days.
  • When studying, I read at least one Reading on each grammar point before continuing. Sometimes the linked resources have a ton of information, so I don’t continue with the study session until the next day when I have enough brain capacity and time to read the resources of the other
  • Every new grammar point that still has open Readings gets bookmarked.
  • Every day I go through the bookmarked grammar points and read one or two Readings I have still open.

I honestly wish I could set the study batch size to 1 so I could learn at least one per day while still doing a minimal around of reading on the grammar points…

So… what do you folks do? How many new (unknown to you) items do you study per day or week? Do you read all resources in the “Readings” section when studying? What do you do with the “Readings” you didn’t read while studying?

3 Likes

I used to do 3 new grammar points per day, but that was only after I was already N4~N3 and had a pretty solid foundation. Since you’re starting from the top, maybe 1-2 per session would be better, depending on how you feel after adding the first new one.

Whatever you choose to do, make sure it’s something you can comfortably do consistently,
because consistency is always king in language learning :wink:

Just bear in mind that 文プロ is more for reviewing than learning (to help you retain what you’ve already covered), although it can also serve as a very nice guide to see what grammar there is to explore.

5 Likes

I usually do 5 easy grammar points (like や) per 2 days or 3 hard ones (like なければならない) in a week. Usually, though, it´s something in between, a mixture of both easy and hard ones.