The biggest flaw of Bunpro (for beginner learners)

Hey!

First of all I want to say I really enjoy what bunpro does. But there is a huge flaw that made learning extremely hard for me using this website. The worst part is, I don’t know how it can be fixed.

I started learning Japanese using the Genki I textbook. I found bunpro shortly after and was happy to see they had a path for Genki.

The problem is, the website is built using the bunpro’s order for learning. When you go through a genki path, it gives you the grammar points in the order of genki, but the example sentences expect you to know the grammar in the bunpro order. For learning to be truly effective you need to use n+1 or whatever they call it where you only introduce 1 new element at a time the rest of the sentence is reviewing everything else you know, and from what I see the bunpro order does that amazingly. So it feels like you kind of undercut the whole system by doing it out of the intended order and choosing a textbook path.

For example Genki Chapter 3 has 余り~ない and ごろ which is actually considered n4 vocab even though it introduces it early in genki.

so you get sentences like this on your 2nd/3rd review even though you’re learning present polite conjugation of verbs on chapter 3 of Genki.

東京とうきょうに行いった友達ともだちは今いまごろ着ついているかな。

あまりいい車くるまではないけど、走はしれるからいいんじゃない?

Those are the most egregious examples I can find, but it happens with a ton of the grammar points just because they’re taught in a different order.