The joy of making mistakes

Hi guys, just thought I would ask a question today about the mistakes that people have made in their study journey that they originally were annoyed about, but actually worked to their benefit in the long run. I think an important part in the (long) journey of learning Japanese is being able to identify our weak areas, and then have fun fixing them.

For me, I used to get really demotivated when I forgot kanji that I had previously learned, pushing it back into more frequent reviews on Anki. Then the longer I studied, the more I noticed that the kanji that I initially regularly forgot actually started to become the ones I remembered 100% of the time as time progressed. I think this is probably due to my brain forming some kind of connection (probably negative haha) with that kanji, thus giving it a reason to hold on to the information. These days when I forget kanji, I actually get a bit of joy out of it, because I know that it will eventually make it’s way into my brains list of ‘remember this sneakey bugger’ kanji.

Do you guys have times like this with any of your areas of study, and have you learned to actually enjoy it to some degree?

12 Likes

I would not say that i like making mistakes, but clearing items i have gotten wrong more than a hundred times brings me a sense of accomplishment that i could never get if i had not faced that hardship. :sweat_smile:

3 Likes

Hahaha yessss, I know that feeling all too well.

I am working increadibly hard re-wiring my initial negative response to making mistakes by trying to feel appreciation for SRS systems working as intended and helping me learn but it sure sometimes is difficult.

Glad to hear that you guys are managing to do so as that gives me hope :slight_smile:

5 Likes