Thoughts from a newbie on context

Up front: I’m a newbie. I had some thoughts around context and Bunpro.

My question is: should Bunpro offer more context, at least in earlier sentences when the sentences are very vague and generic? I’m not sure how helpful learning sentences without much context is. For example, the sentence I happen to be on right now (may not be the best example, but it’ll have to do):

これはいいですか。

Shouldn’t Bunpro tell users somehow when a Japanese speaker would probably ask this question? With the info Bunpro gives me, I have little idea. So if the situation were to come up in real life where I could use this sentence, I doubt it would spring to mind. Could a Uber driver say it to their passenger when trying to figure out where to park? “Is this (spot) good?” :slight_smile: Or could it be used when I’m with my Japanese friend at a sushi restaurant and I’m pointing at an entree on the menu, asking if it’s good? Or neither? See what I mean? I have no idea.

Another one I got “これはいい音だ?”

Would a musician ask this to his bandmates while going through sounds on a keyboard? Or is there a more common time when this question would be asked? Again, with the info Bunpro gives me, I’m not sure.

So maybe when a sentence could be an answer to a question, Bunpro could show the question above it. And conversely, if the sentence is a question, Bunpro could show an example answer underneath it. Or maybe the geniuses behind this site could figure out better ways to do it. :slight_smile:

Thoughts?

6 Likes

I like that idea!