Weekly Log of an Izakaya Favorite

Hello! I’ve been studying Japanese for about 4-5 years now, with college courses, a year in Tokyo, and many hours sunk into WaniKani as all parts of my progress.

Part of leaving college has been loosing a lot of that steady routine that is essential for language learning, and combined with the fact that my Japanese understanding has never been the most well-rounded (what’s grammar? not kanji - don’t care) I’ve found myself in a weird funk of not knowing where to go to improve. I want this study log to work as a way to organize my thoughts and efforts and help me track down where I’m spending my time while I study.

I’ve officially decided to test myself with the N3, and have my eyes set on the N1 in a year or two, so I’m using those as benchmarks for my goals.

Categories:

1. Reading
    Perhaps my most neglected skill, outside of menus, train station posters, and shopping tags, I’ve never pushed myself to use Japanese in longer contexts. My speed is pitifully slow, and my ability to remember any grammar has been stunted by all my reading being essentially “苺: ¥500”
    My goal for myself is to read alongside some of the bookclubs both here and on the WaniKani form. I’m attempting the intermediate clubs (non-participatory in the forms, but I am chugging along with FMA and 君の名は, I promise!) I also participate in the weekly Renshuu discord reading challenges, which are great because they’ve so far been self-contained stories/passages I can finish relatively quickly and feel proud. Will track what I read in future logs.

2. Vocabulary