What do you wish you learned sooner when you started studying Japanese?

Hey BunPro community,

I’ve been learning Japanese for almost 2 years now, and while I’ve still got a long way to go in my personal journey, I’ve reached a point where I’m comfortable helping some of my friends to start their journey of learning Japanese.

I have a few friends currently taking Japanese as a college class, and every week I’ll bring them into a voice call and go over some things I think could be taught better in generalized Japanese curriculum (think る and う-verbs versus the superior Ichidan and Godan method).

As I’ve been learning, occasionally I’ll come across a video on YouTube that’ll explain a concept to me that I wish I could’ve seen waaaaay earlier in my journey, just so I could be conscious of them as I enriched my vocabulary/grammar knowledge/etc. A great example of this was finally learning Pitch Accent about 8 months ago, where even if I don’t look up the pitch accent for every word I come across, I at least know to listen for it when I’m immersing/studying vocab. I’ve been using these experiences to help guide some of the curriculum I’ve been preparing for my friends, so I can at least introduce them to ideas that will benefit them over the long run, as well as trying to enrich what they’re currently learning in class.

This is where I get to this topic’s main question. For everyone currently learning, no matter where you are in your learning journey, are there any pieces of information, concepts, videos, etc. that you’ve come across over time that you wish you’d seen earlier? Or, if you were to go back in time to the you that first began their journey, what would you tell them to help jumpstart their learning?

5 Likes

Those are good examples.
4 years in myself and 100% the Ichidan and Godan method would have helped a lot rather than what Genki was teaching me early on.

Another one for me was probably a classic one - force myself to immerse in easy stuff early on.