What is a good pace for a complete beginner?

I’m level 2 on WaniKani and finally figured out that I wasn’t supposed to be using it alone, so I came here. However, without mnemonics BunPro is way harder, and I’m not sure how much lessons should I be doing. At what interval should I be doing them, etc. Anything helps.

Without mnemonics I can’t recall some things, so I pretty much get stuff wrong even in the lesson itself. Is this common or am I just really bad at remembering?

5 Likes

Welcome to BunPro! It’s a lot of fun once a grammar concept ‘clicks’ in, but it also covers listening, speaking, reading, writing…not the same as kanji so it’s a different challenge. The SRS works a bit a different here too so everyone has a different pace too. Some grammar points have more depth than others too.

For new beginner, I may recommend checking out a book path on BP since the readings and sentences will likely leave questions. Genki I’m guessing is the most popular, Tae Kim is free but not a workbook, Minna I hear is good too. A path helps fill the gaps; there is a lot of info to cover for the basics like getting comfortable with conjugations and they built into new grammar points. I may suggest the dictionary series too, at least just the yellow one which cover a lot of ground and very helpful for many questions and exceptions. Also may suggest an italki tutor (even just to meet once or twice a month) help answer questions and help practice new found grammar skills; feel free to post them on WK or BP boards too.

3 Likes