What's up with -ならない and -いけない grammar?

Hi there! I wasn’t sure if I should post this under one particular grammar point because it’s more to do with: how they heck do you know when to use these separately?

Do they all mean the same thing? Is there nuance on when to use them?

[ないと] or [なくては] or [なければ] or the short form [なくちゃ].

There’s also the [べき] for must that I get a bit confused with when to use.

I apologize if there’s an existing answer. I searched around but I’m still lost.

3 Likes

My opinion is not worth much since I am not that experienced, but I will say it anyway. Worst case scenario is I am just plain wrong, and somebody will correct me xD So:

べき i would avoid as much possible. It is good enough you understand it when you hear or read it. Japanese culture does not like direct order, or being direct in general (that’s why they opt for HA more often than GA when speaking about themselves). It is rude in their view. That why they express “must” as double negation. “If you don’t do x, it will be not good” implies strongly enough that you mush or should do x.

As for first question as long as you follow associated grammar with each word there is not important enough difference. If you are not one those that believe your grammar must be as good as native if not better, then I do see a reason to be stress about it.

I don’t know if it is helpful. Somebody with more knowledge will for sure explain you specific differences soon :innocent:

EDIT: I will give you an example. I know for fact that there is some “important” difference between “must” and “have to” because I remember falling asleep on lesson explain it. But guest what? I never ever even once had problems because of not remembering what that difference is. And I used to live in UK for some time. I bet native speakers would have hard time explaining what that difference is.

1 Like