When did it start clicking for you?

Hey there!

I’m just starting out in this Japanese language journey and its so daunting the amount of difference the language has to English, every step forward I take seems like nothing to the monolithic task of learning such an objectively difficult language and every step i do take feels slow.

Of course I never expected it to easy but I think I would just like to get a feel for the collective consensus of when it starts to “Click” for people, how far did you get into this process before you started to feel even remotely comfortable listening to people speaking the language or reading/watching basic, low level language Japanese media. When did it start to change from “I’m getting nowhere with this” to “Oh damn! I’m actually doing this”

I guess I’m just wanting to hear some confirmation that the pieces will eventually start to fit into place and that the point where the effort feels worth it isn’t years away.

10 Likes

There’s no one specific moment where things clicked for me, but it’s always the occasional moment when watching an anime or listening to a song and hearing/seeing a word/series of words/grammatical structure where I just kind of naturally/instinctively understand it, then my brain just goes “wait a minute, I actually understood that” right afterwards.

As a tiny example, I was watching Godzilla Minus One and at some point one of the characters says 元海軍もとかいぐん. Now this isn’t a word I learned by itself at all, but I did learn 元 and 海軍 separately, and my brain just kind of made the association on its own that yeah, 元海軍 obviously means ex-navy, duh, and I just instinctively understood it.