When to start learning vocab decks?

Hello! I signed up to Bunpro less than a week ago and I’m enjoying the process so far. I noticed that grammar and vocab reviews are separate in beta. But since I’m just starting out on N5 grammar, I was wondering when I should start going over the vocab decks.

For some context, I’ve been studying Japanese on-and-off for the past decade. I took classes in college, reached Level 30 in WaniKani, and read a few online textbooks. I retained quite a bit more than I realize but I still feel rusty.

That said, I’m gonna start from square one and go over grammar in Bunpro like a total beginner. I’m also considering going back to Level 1 in WK to refresh my memory on everything.

When did y’all start tacking vocab here in Bunpro?
Thank you!

Another question to those who also use WK: How much time do you spend studying each day? And how much time do you allot on Bunpro and WK? Thank you!

8 Likes

Hello! はじめまして!

You did good joining Bunpro, you won’t regret it.

As for the vocabulary, start right away, the sooner the better and as much as you can. Vocab in Bunpro is well structured and full of example sentences graded by difficulty (N5 upwards).

I’m afraid I can’t help you with the WK question.

良い旅行を、楽しんでくださいね!

3 Likes

I do both Bunpro and Wanikani. For Wanikani I keep my apprentice level items capped at 100 max, and just keep up with reviews throughout the day. I found 100 apprentice level items to be a good compromise between speed, time spend on reviews and actually learning the words. Reviews are taking me at most 30 minutes a day.

For Bunpro I haven’t found a good item cap, I just add more items based on gut feeling. Doing 3 new items a day seems doable though, making sure you’re keeping up with reviews of course. If you feel overwhelmed just stop adding new items for a few days and work on reviews and ghosts.