Zenyth's Study Log

Since everyone seems to be doing one of these, I decided to start my own. In this first post, I want to outline my long term goals, short term goals, and how I plan to study to accomplish these. If anyone has any constructive advice or critique, I do welcome it, but please at least read through this first post all the way through as I will go into my current limitations to what/how I am studying.

First, I want to go over my goals. In about 3-5 years I plan on starting my PhD and I want my research question to focus around the depiction of social movements in anime/manga (will start to narrow it down once I get into the program and can talk with researcher in my chosen field). In addition to this, I am debating on whether or not to apply to a school in Japan. Either way, I will need a high level of Japanese both to watch/read the stories that my research applies to but also in order to understand any research papers/presentations that might be applicable to my research. Therefore, my current long term goal is to reach the point where I can watch anime comfortably in Japanese and read through academic papers with relative ease (still having to look up a handful of words per page but being able to get the general meaning even without looking things up).