Belomi's return! (Accountability/study log)

Hello everyone!

I am back here on bunpro, and happy to be back! I disappeared for a little bit because I was actually prepping to move to Japan! Which, of course, studying more should have probably been higher on that priority list, but saying bye to friends and packing your life up is also important, I guess.

Anyways, I’m here in Japan working as an ALT, and while I a lot of people say it’s not a very good way to learn Japanese, I’m pretty lucky in the fact that the level of English among the other faculty in my school is pretty low (but honestly, better than expected), so I’m forced to use and listen to Japanese every day. Also, people are very outgoing here, so I’m usually dragged out if there’s an event and get to have Japanese conversation then!

Why I’m Studying
Aside from living life a little easier while I’m here, I mainly came because I needed a break from my work, and my industry does benefit a lot from knowing Japanese. That’s not really how it started–I was just your average weeb interested in anime and manga, but that’s what it’s evolved to.

Closest Main Goal
So, obviously “I want to work with Japanese” is not a good, short term goal to set for myself if I want to get any progress done. So my main goal is currently: I want to pass N3 next summer. I think I’m well on my way and could easily be studying for N2 in that time, but I want to feel as confident as I can going in, as well as not get derailed by adjusting to life here, so I’m giving myself that extra time to prepare. Ultimately, before I eventually go home, I want to try to pass N2.

Grammar