~んです・のです - Grammar Discussion

explains or indicates, asking for reassurance

Structure

• Statement + んです
  • Statement + のです

View on Bunpro

1 Like

I’m really having a tough time differentiating between this ([~んです) and でしょ. Both seem to be asking for reassurance/confirmation. Any suggestions on how to keep them straight?

5 Likes

When you ask with ん・の like
どうしえそこに行ったんですか?
It means that you ask for explanation, you do not want simple yes/no/very short answer. You want more details.

When you use でしょ/でしょう(it differs in tone from でしょう - probably in intonation!) in questions it is something like tag questions in English. Asking for confirmation. De facto, English “right?”.

きみは車を持っているでしょ?
You have a car, right?

3 Likes

I also still struggle with this difference between んです and でしょう. As a beginner, I still am not sure I understand the explanation you gave and more than that I have a very hard time getting it right on the Bunpro grammar Reviews :frowning:

2 Likes

No worries!

I will try my best explaining. Which parts of my previous post do you find unclear?

Let’s go step by step:
A: どうして そこに 行ったんですか。
Why did you go there?
Why - どうして
there - そこに
did go? - 行ったか。
ん - adds the nuance of explanation and since it is a question, it will be a nuance of asking for an explanation(seeking explanation), if we wanted to put this into words, it would be something like "explain it"or “explain what is going on”.

So if we want literal translation:
“Why did you go there, explain what is going on?” (it may sound a bit rude/negative in English, but there is no such nuance with ん/の)

In an affirmative sentence it could be translated as:
“the explanation is…”, “the reason is…”, “the situation is”, “it is that”.

Answer would be:
B: ともこさんに会わなければならなかったんだ。

ともこ - Tomoko
に - with
会わなければなかった - had to meet
んだ - explanatory nuance, “the explanation is”

Literal translation:
“The explanation is, I had to meet with Tomoko.”