Does anyone use Japanesepod101?

I’ve used it on and off over the years and I know it remains relatively populer, yet I never seem to see it on recommended lists of resources these days. You see a lot of books, apps, reading resources and recommended TV shows/anime. Has if fallen into obscurity, or has the community just shunned it?

Despite it’s camp, I find it to be quite resourceful and excellent for explaining the proper usage of many vocabulary words and phrases. While not as in depth on grammar as Bunpro, using it in conjunction with Bunpro gave me better understanding of grammar that sometimes isn’t explained well enough. I feel it was the first resource that helped me bridge the gap between textbook and real life conversation.

So yeah, just wondering if anyone uses it, or has used it before. And of course, what you think of it.

3 Likes

I used it for like a week so perhaps what I experienced at the absolute beginner isn’t relevant at later stages. It just seemed very bare-bones and a jack of all trades instead of being a master at one.

Bunpro’s grammar explanations (for the most part of what I’ve experienced thus far, nearly done with N4) usually provide you with the gist. If more explanation is needed, you have Tae Kim, Japanese Ammo, anyone else to fit in the blanks. Japanese Ammo (or any other youtuber) will provide added context and also does a lot more practice sentences + mini-tests.

If you want pure listening practicing there are websites that do it better for generalized use, or you could do anime/shows and get a more “real” grasp of the language. If you want reading practice then there are more detailed websites that will push you even harder.

But again, maybe I’m talking out my butt and japanesepod is actually really useful and really at the end of the day whatever works, works. I think a lot of people shun it because it costs money and doesn’t really offer a service that isn’t available through other channels.