だんだん - Grammar Discussion

gradually
little by little
step by step

Structure

• だんだん + (と) + Phrase

View on Bunpro

1 Like

Hello, I’m just learning this new grammar but I don’t understand why sometime you have to add the と and sometime not. Is there a rule ?

3 Likes

Hey :grin:

だんだん is an onomatopoeia, basically a word created to imitate a sound. と is our favorite quotation particle.
Basically, it’s like quoted sound.

Adverbs like that are very common in Japanese, and we call them と adverbs.
Usually, if the sound is repeated, like in だんだん case, you can skip と if you want.
If the sound appears only once (it is not duplicated) then you have to use と.

That’s basically it (though very simplified).
I hope it helps, cheers

5 Likes

Oooh I didn’t thought it was the quotation と does it also mean you can drop it in casual speech but have to use it in formal or written cases ?

Thank you !

2 Likes

Theoretically, だんだんと would be more correct, but dropping と is extremely common, even in writing.

In addition to that, 徐々に(じょじょに)is a word that fits writing a bit more.

1 Like

In this example sentence there are a three points I am unsure about.

友達が話している:「だんだんあのやつの事が嫌いなってきていて、今は避けるようにしている。」
Chat between friends: “I gradually came to dislike that guy, and now I do my best to avoid him.”

My interpretation of these three…

• あのやつの事
    That guy’s… (actions?; events?, I am unsure what this is meant to convey)

• 嫌いなってきていて
    Have come to dislike(ing?) (does the いる here signify a continuing state?)

• 避けるようにしてる。
    Doing things similar to avoiding? (I… I… can’t even… help me!)

I am a little shaky on what these parts are trying to convey here. Any insight would be oh so much appreciated! (´・ω・`)

1 Like

Very good questions, I will do my best to answer them :+1: