Is Bunpro good for Vocab or not?

I saw some threads talking about how Bunpro is only good for grammar but bad for Vocab. Some saying Anki (or other similar SRS) is better. Honestly, I’m a little confused by that statement. I’m still a newbie here (not a complete newbie in Japanese though), but to me Bunpro seems GREAT for vocab. It’s not just words without context, like just a core Anki deck, but it makes you review them in different contexts.

So my question is: why do people say Bunpro is bad for learning vocab?

8 Likes

I think it’s good for the occasional word, for example I come across food labels a lot and as I’m logging stuff for the gym, I was always looking at things like タンパク質 (Protein) 脂肪 (Fat).

For words like this, I think Bunpro is good.

But when I started following a vocabulary textbook and wanted to add every word I came across, it was hard to find them in the first place as even though my textbook is N3, the vocab could be found scattered anywhere from N4 to N2 on Bunpro.

Then when it came to reviewing them, some words go in first time, but some words for me take quite a bit of review time. This is fine for grammar, as I learn every single point. But when I’m skipping out known vocab, it’s impossible to use cram efficiently as there is no ‘cram only known items’ button.

2 Likes

Welcome to the forums! :tada:

Bunpro is GREAT for studying Vocab! (not biased at all) :wink:

In all seriousness:

While has its flaws…

1. Doesn’t have reviewable sentences for every word
  2. Some ambiguousness about what exact word that is required, leading to wrong answers that would otherwise be right
  3. A lot of the non-JLPT Vocab don’t have a tonne of info on them

These are actively being worked on:

1. Sentences just got added for N2/N1 sentences, and more on the way, getting added rapidly
  2. Currently discussing this internally, by way of adding the “leading hints” system to Vocab too.