The Study Log of All Time

Hello everyone, I spend enough time lurking other’s study logs I think I’ll finally make my own! I have so much free time as it’s the holidays once more for my students. :wave:

Why I’m studying
I live in Japan, understanding the language will improve all aspects of my life, from work, to hobbies, to my relationships. Currently my main aim is to pass the N3 in December this year - or at least have a very good go at it!

Grammar
As of writing this, I’m at 172 of 219 N3 grammar points. Mondays to Fridays I learn 4 new points a day, taking a break on the weekends - usually only doing some reviews on Sundays. When I do this I typically write out the point, its explanation and 3 example sentences, often using my own sentence into my notebook.

In 2 weeks I’ll have finished all the N3 points, where I’ll then turn my focus to cementing the weaker points through Bunpro cram and writing out more example sentences.

Vocabulary
Much like many others learning Japanese, my vocabulary is starting to set me back now I’ve reached the intermediate level and have the huge increase in required vocab. I will be buying an N3 JLPT vocab book to see the kinds of words I need to know. I have 4 months until the exam so I plan to use that book along Bunpro vocab decks to fill in gaps. (I also have Migaku for vocab too but need some more time to set that up).

Kanji
My main kanji study I do is through Wanikani - I’m just shy of level 19 so not high at all. As WKStats shows, level 30 is where you should be for a good basis of N3 level kanji. I like WK but as others before have stated, it’s not always the quickest method of learning kanji. If I’m to reach level 30 standard it will be, at at roughly 35 kanji per WK level, around 400 more I need to learn by December. 25 a week, 100 a month is kind of daunting maybe?

Listening