Why do you study Japanese?

Hey y’all, I’m a grad student currently working on a school project for creating a language learning toolset to facilitate immersion and enhance learnings from it. I’ve personally been using technology to enhance and facilitate immersion learnings for a while, but I wanted to get an unbiased perspective from other learners before just clacking away some code for the next couple of months.

I’m curious about a couple of things:

1. Motivation. What made you start learning Japanese, and is that still your motivation? Are you learning mostly as a hobby, or is there something in your life that requires knowing Japanese?

No reason is too silly. If it was the thought of Japanese waifu, or if it was Gojo Satoru that has got you committed, I wanna hear about that! But just be real, tell me what motivating thoughts and images come to mind on days where you don’t feel like studying.

1. Prior language learning experience. Do you know, or have you ever learned other languages? If so, how does it compare to your Japanese level? Did you study actively to learn the language?

2. Attitudes toward immersion learning. Do you believe immersion is the most effective approach to acquiring a language? Do you feel uncomfortable when you immerse?

3. Role of immersion in your daily studies. What role does immersion play in your language learning process? Is it your primary source of learning? How does the amount of time you spend immersing compare to the amount of time you spend on guided resources? Is the amount of time you spend immersing consistent with your attitudes toward immersion learning?

4. Enjoyability. What makes learning enjoyable? Is there anything unenjoyable in your current study habits (and if so, why do you stick with them)? What parts of your study habits are enjoyable for you?