Not ready :sweat_smile:

Really?

Not ready already! :hot_face:

Reading?

And listening :roll_eyes:

14 Likes

So … What books have you got / ordered?

2 Likes

I’ve got this online N3 class through Udemy.

https://www.udemy.com/course/japanese-n3-course/

https://www.attainj.co.jp/attain-online-japanese/courseguide/jlpt/n3.html

I went through the whole course hoping it would get me ready for the N3, but I didn’t feel ready by August to take the December 2022 test. There were no seats in either New York or DC just an hour after registration opened so it didn’t end up mattering anyway. So I got … BunPro!

I don’t think they do the June/July test in the US anymore so I have to wait until December 2023 if I want to try again. I like learning better without the stress of there being a test.

6 Likes

I actually like there being stress with the test, though I definitely do see your point. In my case, I studied way harder and learned so much more than I usually do because I was preparing for the test. I’m hoping to take the N2 or N1 this year, so I’m gonna go through the same routine except much earlier this time lol.

4 Likes

If I passed N2 I’m going to skip giving N1 a shot and instead focus on job/moving stuff. If I didn’t pass then I’m going to retake N2, of course. Mostly just going to keep doing what I’ve been doing!

4 Likes

I agree! A looming test definitely does light a fire under some people’s butts! Over the years I’ve gotten really good at self-motivating so I can happily learn without worrying about being prepared enough.