I studied kanji for 2 (and a bit) hours every single day for two years

Like the title says. I studied kanji for around 2 (and a bit) hours every single day for two years. This is a direct follow up of my previous post -

Here’s what happened.

New kanji that I learned - 2533

Individual reviews of kanji - 67329

Seeing as though my focus was writing, and I wrote each kanji 10 times per review, that makes close to 700000 individual kanji written.

“Why?”

I wanted to see if writing was more effective than mnemonics… Also my partner is Japanese. As this was the second year, it was also simply an extension of my first year of kanji study.

“Result worth it?”

Without a doubt, yes. Of those 2533, I can write about 99% of them. There are also about 300 extra I can write based on common radicals/being almost identical to one I have already learned/not bothering to learn the equivalent ‘rarer’ kanji with the same meaning. Example, 島 and 嶋. They both mean island, they both have exactly the same radicals, they both have the same kun/on-yomi, one is simply far rarer. Knowing one while being ‘aware’ of the other means you also know the second, and are able to draw it. There are probably at least 100 kanji like this.

“What order did you learn them in?”

I did japanese school grade order. This is usually not recommended, but I wanted to try to understand why this order is used for natives, so I used it. In hindsight I am very glad that I did, as learning easy ‘concepts’, rather than learning easy ‘kanji’ was definitely more useful as you progress further and further. You start to notice that each new difficult kanji is just a unique nuance of something you’ve already learned.

“Can you actually read now?”